DreamHost vs InMotion Hosting: Upfront, Renewal and 3-Year Cost

As of , among the plans we track, the lowest 3-year totals are DreamHost Shared Web Hosting Launch at $298.44 and InMotion Hosting Shared Launch at $179.64, lower at InMotion Hosting (renewal counted month by month, our assumption). DreamHost Shared Web Hosting Launch costs $2.89/month for the first 12 months (the page does not say whether that term is billed at once or monthly), then $10.99/month. InMotion Hosting Shared Launch is paid at purchase: $179.64 covers 36 months ($4.99/month), then $13.99/month. Methodology · Source: hosting price records.

Prices as shown in the United States on .

Paid within 3 years
  • DreamHost Shared Web Hosting Launch$298.44
  • InMotion Hosting Shared Launch$179.64
DreamHost Shared Web Hosting LaunchInMotion Hosting Shared Launch
Paid at purchaseNot stated$179.64 Calculated
First-term monthly price$2.89/month Observed$4.99/month Observed
First term12 months36 months
Renewal price$10.99/month Observed$13.99/month Observed
Rise at renewal+280.3% Calculated+180.4% Calculated
Paid within 3 years$298.44 Calculated$179.64 Calculated
All tracked plans DreamHost: 1 plan · InMotion Hosting: 3 plans

DreamHost

PlanPaid at purchaseStarting monthly priceFirst termRenewal pricePaid within 3 yearsChecked
DreamHost Shared Web Hosting LaunchNot stated¹$2.89/month Observed12 months$10.99/month Observed$298.44 Calculated 12 months × $2.89 + 24 monthly payments × $10.99 (billing schedule not stated on the provider page)

¹ Billing for the first term is not stated on the page.

InMotion Hosting

PlanPaid at purchaseStarting monthly priceFirst termRenewal pricePaid within 3 yearsChecked
InMotion Hosting Shared Launch$179.64 Calculated 4.99×36, covers 36 months$4.99/month Observed36 months$13.99/month Observed$179.64 Calculated $179.64 at purchase (4.99×36, covers 36 months)
InMotion Hosting Shared Power$215.64 Calculated 5.99×36, covers 36 months$5.99/month Observed36 months$17.99/month Observed$215.64 Calculated $215.64 at purchase (5.99×36, covers 36 months)
InMotion Hosting Shared Pro$395.64 Calculated 10.99×36, covers 36 months$10.99/month Observed36 months$24.99/month Observed$395.64 Calculated $395.64 at purchase (10.99×36, covers 36 months)

What differs in our measurements

6 notes · no price changes since Oct 14, 2026
  • DreamHost Shared Web Hosting Launch: renewal $10.99/month is 280.3% above the first-term price $2.89/month on a 12-month first term.
  • InMotion Hosting Shared Launch: renewal $13.99/month is 180.4% above the first-term price $4.99/month on a 36-month first term.
  • InMotion Hosting Shared Power: renewal $17.99/month is 200.3% above the first-term price $5.99/month on a 36-month first term.
  • InMotion Hosting Shared Pro: renewal $24.99/month is 127.4% above the first-term price $10.99/month on a 36-month first term.
  • DreamHost: no price change recorded across 12 successful price checks since Oct 14, 2026.
  • InMotion Hosting: no price change recorded across 36 successful price checks since Oct 14, 2026.

What each plan includes (the provider’s own words)

5 of 5 items stated by the providers
DreamHost Shared Web Hosting LaunchInMotion Hosting Shared Launch
Websites25 “25 Websites”not recorded
Storage25 GB NVMe SSD “25 GB NVMe SSD storage”not recorded
Domain includedfree 1-year registration (annual and multi-year plans) “Our annual and multi-year Web Hosting, DreamPress, and Managed VPS plans include a free 1-year domain registration.”not recorded
Mailboxes3-month trial; count varies by plan “All of DreamHost's web hosting plans include a free 3-month trial of Professional Email @yourdomain, with the number of mailboxes varying by plan.”not recorded
Renewal termauto-renews after 1 year “Auto-renews at $10.99 /mo after 1 year.”not recorded

Each cell is the provider’s own wording from its pricing page, read on Oct 18, 2026; what is not on that page is shown as not stated; a plan we have not read for this is shown as not recorded.

How the amounts are calculated payments, not months · no taxes or add-ons

How the amounts are calculated: we count payments, not months. “Paid at purchase” is the whole first term billed on day one (first-term monthly price × months of the term, e.g. 2.99 × 48 = 143.52), even when the term is longer than 3 years; for a plan the provider page says is billed monthly, it is the first month, and where the page does not say how the term is billed, no amount is shown. “Paid within 3 years” adds the payments due in the first 36 months; renewal is counted month by month at the measured renewal price, because the page does not say for how long a renewal is billed (our assumption). A flat monthly price is paid every month. We do not add taxes, setup fees, domain or add-on prices. Prices are taken as measured today.

Pages

We compare prices and billing terms; plan features are shown as each provider states them.