Why VPN prices rise at renewal: what we measured
On the median VPN service in our sample renewed at 85.4% above its first-term monthly price (based on 7 services that publish both prices; observed range 0% – 178.6%). We track 28 consumer VPN services daily. Methodology · All VPN price records.
The mechanism
Consumer VPN pricing is built around the longest plan. The headline monthly price is the total for a one- to three-year prepayment divided by the number of months. When that first term ends, the subscription renews, and the renewal amount is often a different, higher yearly price. The headline figure therefore describes only the first term.
For each service we read the longest public plan from the provider's own pricing page. We record two values: the first-term price per month (total divided by the full term in months) and the renewal price per month (published renewal amount divided by the renewal period).
What the renewal premium measures
The Caliper Press VPN Renewal Premium Watch is calculated in the page currency. 85.4% (small sample: 7 records) (based on 7, observed range 0% – 178.6%; ). Median of (renewal price per month / first-term price per month - 1) × 100 across VPN services that publish both prices, in the page currency. Speed, leaks and actual logging are not measured.
In the latest data 8 services had both prices measured on the same date. 5 renew at a higher monthly price than the first term. 3 publish the same monthly price for renewal as for the first term. The largest gap: ExpressVPN: $2.99/month for the first term, $8.33/month at renewal (178.6% higher). The smallest: Windscribe (last confirmed Oct 17, 2026): $5.75/month for the first term, $5.75/month at renewal. The table lists every service with both prices measured on the same date (8); the index counts 7 of them; its definition above says which ones it includes.
Services with both prices measured
Sorted by the calculated gap. Last column: renewal ÷ first-term price − 1. The price shown is converted to USD with the ECB daily reference rate; the page currency and amount remain in each record. Each row links to the service's page with the source quote and its history.
| Plan | First term | Renewal | Renewal vs first term (calculated) | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ExpressVPN | $2.99/month | $8.33/month | 178.6% | |
| CyberGhost VPN | $2.19/month | $4.75/month | 116.7% | |
| Proton VPN | $3.49/month | $6.99/month | 100.3% | |
| PureVPN | $2.16/month | $4.00/month | 85.4% | |
| Private Internet Access | $2.03/month | $2.19/month | 8.1% | |
| hide.me VPN | $2.69/month | $2.69/month | 0% | |
| Mullvad VPN | $5.63/month | $5.63/month | 0% | |
| Windscribe (last confirmed Oct 17, 2026) | $5.75/month | $5.75/month | 0% |
When the renewal price is not stated
For 14 services the first-term price was measured, but the pricing page does not state the renewal amount. Wording such as "applicable renewal price" or "then-current price" means the number is not published. We record this as unknown with the quote; we do not estimate it from other services, and these services are not in the index.
14 plans with no renewal price recorded
| Plan | First term |
|---|---|
| AdGuard VPN | $2.99/month |
| AirVPN (last confirmed Oct 16, 2026) | $2.00/month |
| Astrill VPN | $12.50/month |
| Bitdefender Premium VPN | $2.92/month |
| FastestVPN | $0.83/month |
| HMA VPN | $2.99/month |
| IPVanish | $2.19/month |
| Mozilla VPN | $4.99/month |
| OVPN | $4.22/month |
| PrivadoVPN | $1.11/month |
| Surfshark | $2.49/month |
| VeePN | $1.99/month |
| X-VPN | $2.92/month |
| ZoogVPN | $2.22/month |
What we do not measure
We compare prices and published terms only; we do not test speed, leaks or logging. Money-back periods and device limits in each record are the published terms. The legal base of a provider is reported only as the provider's own claim.
Reading a VPN price over several years
The cost of the first term is the first-term monthly price multiplied by the term. Each later year costs the renewal monthly price multiplied by twelve, as long as the published renewal price does not change. Both inputs are in each service record, with the date they were read. Prices are as shown in the United States; some providers show different offers in other countries.
The history currently covers 5 observation date(s), from Oct 14, 2026 to Oct 18, 2026. A change in either published price will appear in the service's history and the section's weekly change list.